Brain Fog

Do You Have Brain Fog?

If you ever have trouble remembering a name or lose your train of thought in the middle of a sentence, you may be experiencing brain fog. Brain fog sufferers usually have one or more of these symptoms: forgetfulness, spaciness, feelings of confusion and inability to focus.

Take this assessment to find out if you may have brain fog or other mental confusion. Think carefully before responding to each question, and answer as honestly as possible.

  1. Do you sometimes not know where you are?
    • Yes
    • No
  1. Do you often say one word when you mean another?
    • Yes
    • No
  1. Do you sometimes have trouble completing sentences?
    • Yes
    • No
  1. Do you frequently lose your train of thought?
    • Yes
    • No
  1. Do you sometimes have trouble spelling familiar words?
    • Yes
    • No
  1. Do you sometimes not know the name of an object?
    • Yes
    • No
  1. Do you find yourself becoming more disorganized and less efficient?
    • Yes
    • No
  1. Do you often spend a lot of time going through papers looking for something?
    • Yes
    • No

 

I answered yes to 7 out of 8 of these.  Seems I am not alone, The Bean and Catnip & Coffee both seem to suffer from some version of Brain Fog.  And I am sure there are many others.

I too suffer from similar symptoms of foggy-brained-ness. I attribute it to several causes.

1. Sleep deprivation – the fact that I constantly zapped of energy — energy your brain needs to stay focused

2. Being Over Extended – how many things can one mind juggle at one time?

3. My kids stole the best of my brain cells during pregnancy

I just try to keep my sense of humor about my forgetfulness

Did you know that there is a real medical disorder called “Brain Fog”? Google it…

There is also a book about this… we are not alone!

Female and Forgetful: A Six-Step Program to Help Restore Your Memory and Sharpen Your Mind
by Elisa Lottor

The results to my quiz are:

You have significant brain fog
You may be experiencing severe episodes of brain fog and mental confusion and should seek professional medical care to discuss potential causes and treatments. Brain fog can feel like you’ve been drugged — similar to being stoned, confused and disoriented without the accompanying pleasurable “high.” It can be triggered for many reasons, including decreased estrogen production during menopause, low blood sugar, food allergies, stress, poor nutrition and lack of exercise. Other conditions, including Alzheimer’s disease, depression, fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue or an underactive thyroid could also be contributing to your brain fog and mental confusion.

Personally, I agree with The Bean, I think all that drinking and drugs is finally catching up to me.

1 Comment »

  1. bejewell Said:

    I guess I’m not THAT foggy. At least, I’m with it enough to notice that all of the questions above are numbered 1.

    Were you trying to trick me?


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

