Ode to the Kids

So in following up to my last post, this is all about them!
My eldest son is in 7th grade and was selected to be in the advanced math program.  He is talking pre- algebra this year.  He is also taking French.  I have tired to encourage him to participate in other school activities, but he protests a bit.  He definitely does not want to be in band again.  He is doing fall soccer and seems that his main focus is his social life.   Which for me means carting him to his friends houses, to the movies, and coming soon…  his FIRST school dance.
 
My Dear Daughter and middle child wrote a speech that she had to read in front of the 5th grade, she was running for student council.  She had to collect 25 signatutes from her classmates to be eligible to run. Unfortunatly, she was only voted alternate.  But later we found out the girl who won had given candy out to kids to sway their vote.  This is TOTALLY against the rules.  So Monday, I will be that mom, and go to school and complain.  She has also decided she wants to be in Band, and we just purchased her flute and she starts lessons on Tuesday.  She is also doing fall soccer and is on the same team as her older brother, which mortifies him. 
 
My baby boy, not so much a baby anymore, is in 4th grade.  He also ran for student council.  He had to write a letter to the fourth grade teachers stating why he thought he would be a good candiate to represent his class.  Of course, the two kids who were selected were children of parents who are school volunteers and on the PTA BOARD this year.  Those kids who won could have said, “I want to be on student council so I can steal from the school store,” and they still would have been selected. Being a stay at home mom sure has its perks, unfortunatly I have to work.   He is doing fall soccer.  He has been saying for a while that he would like a new bed.  The one he has now is a loft bed, that he stores his toys under.  His complaint is its too high for Rocky our dog to be able to lay with him.  We finally found what we thought would be a good option for his room.  It also gives him a place for a friend if he has a sleep over, because its a bunk bead.  And now he wants to be in guitar club.  Which means he needs a guitar.   Gonna ask grandma for help $$ with that one.
After all they have been through, I think overall they are good, well rounded, intellegent children – despite the gene pool from which they came.  Quite often I get complimented on how respectful and well behaved they are.  But they are a lot of work, and take up a lot of my time.  Really, I work two full time jobs.  The one that makes me money, and the one that makes me rich. 
Leave a Reply

