Working Mom’s Struggles

I read a post this morning by my friend Catnip who is also a working mom.  She talked about her struggles with reciprocating playdates.  My kids are a bit older and no longer schedule playdates.  But often I am confronted with an obstacles of being a working mom.  Here are a list of my gripes:

  1. Recreational sports start at 5:30.  I get out of work at 5:00.  I have to rush home, honk in the driveway and go directly to the practice.  Makes cooking dinner impossible three nights a week since each child meets at different times.
  2. After school activities.  I am so glad that my kids are involved in school.  But there is no bus service for after school activities.  Which means I have to beg other parents to give my kids rides, or I have to take off work early, or weather permitting I actually have my kids walk the mile home.
  3. Can I ride home on my friends bus and play?  I get asked this question over and over.  And its great, and I want them to play with friends.  But I work until 5:00, and if we don’t have practice, then I have a million things to do every night and cannot have extra kids over.  (this piggybacks on Catnips reciprocating dilemma)
  4. Birthday Party’s on School days.  WTF.  My daughter has been invited to a birthday party this afternoon at 4:00.  I know that I am not the only working mom.  And taking off from work early so that i can bring my daughter to a birthday party is NOT happening.  Sometimes I think SAHM’s can be so insensitive to the challenges of working mom’s schedules.

I am sure I will think of some more and add them to the list at a later date.  But I have to stop blogging and get my ass to work!

2 Comments »

  1. catnip35 Said:

    I never heard of birthday parties during the week. Ugh. I guess it’s just as hard as they get older – just in different ways!

  2. we_be_toys Said:

    Who the hell throws birthday parties on a weekdays? I bet you, if enough people just didn’t go, that would stop.

    Girl, I feel your pain – I am a SAHM but even so, the dash from post-school to bedtime is INSANE – I can only imagine just how outta hand it is when you’re trying to work as well. Ack!!!

    How much longer until summer vacation again?


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

